The thing people usually think of first when they think of Kentucky is fried chicken and/or horses.  But there’s definitely something else we’re famous for around here.

That, of course, is basketball.  It’s kind of a big deal.  Maybe you’ve heard of us?   If you happen to be out of touch and/or uninterested in NCAA basketball (so sad for you), just ask these folks:

This funny guy knows where it’s at.

This dude comes to hang out once in a while.

And this guy could barely contain his excitement over one of our wins last year.  Look how happy he is…right?

Anyway, I went to my first game this week.  It was amazing.  I don’t know how other colleges do the whole home game thing, but it’s definitely a big deal here.  There are fireworks.  Inside.  There are short dance parties.  There are special banners and a hundred different chants.  It’s a big event.  This week’s game against Arkansas was dunkalicious:

BROW DOWN!

I had always been afraid of going to the games because I get really agitated in crowds and the sounds of a basketball game drive me insane, plus getting a ticket is really difficult.  A friend texted me Tuesday asking me to tag along with her right after I found out that I got the job, and I thought it would be a great way to celebrate.  Even though we were all the way at the top of the arena and squeezed in a with a bunch of strangers, the atmosphere was so amazing that none of it bothered me.  We had a great view of the game, despite the height, and we were far enough that I didn’t have to hear any of the squeaking shoes or whistle blowing nonsense.  Plus, being at the game you don’t have to suffer through ridiculous commentating.  Win!

We’re ranked number two right now and I’m ready for a boss finish to the season.  See you all in the Final Four!

