So no pictures or happiness in this post.  I’m really just writing to keep this blog updated on what is happening in my life.

A few weeks ago, out of nowhere, I was fired for the first time ever.  This means I currently only have 1 part-time job and very little money.  I’m making enough to get by, but just barely.  Obviously, this means that I’ll be doing significantly less in the kitchen, at least less interesting things.  I’m going to try to keep posting something here on a regular basis, though it may get (even more) random.

That said, I do have a recipe to share.  I made this bread in October and it was absolutely delicious, but I was too excited/lazy to take pictures.  I mean…it looks like pumpkin bread, so just use your imagination.

Pumpkin Bread (adapted from this recipe)

  • 1/2 (15 ounce) can pumpkin puree
  • 1 eggs
  • 1/3 cup vegetable oil
  • 3 tablespoons and 2 teaspoons water
  • 1 cup white sugar
  • 1 cup and 3 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/8 teaspoon ground ginger

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease one 7×3 inch loaf pan.

In a large bowl, mix together pumpkin puree, eggs, oil, water and sugar until well blended. In a separate bowl, whisk together the flour, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, nutmeg, cloves and ginger. Stir the dry ingredients into the pumpkin mixture until just blended. Pour into the prepared pan.

Bake for about 50 minutes in the preheated oven. Loaf is done when toothpick inserted in center comes out clean.
