I’ve had leftover lasagna noodles sitting in my pantry for a few months and I wanted to find a way to use them that wasn’t lasagna or lasagna roll-ups.  I really wanted it to be healthy, as well.  So I came up with this crazy sauce.

The base is vegetables- how much healthier can you get?!

I wanted to add beans for smoothness (and fiber!), thinking of white bean hummus.  I blended the vegetables and beans warm so they would break down a little easier.

It’s so easy to make, just throw everything in and blend until smooth.  Or, as smooth as possible.  My food processor doesn’t really get things completely smooth, but the sauce is good chunky.

It doesn’t necessarily look tasty, but I promise it is.

I added diced tomatoes to this batch, which makes it look a little too much like vomit…

All rolled up and toasty.  They’re so good!  I’m a little too proud of myself.

I also served this sauce on whole wheat spaghetti, and it was still amazing.  It’s a good substitute for cheese sauce.  You could add probably any vegetable to it and it would still be really tasty.

Vegetable Lasagna Roll-Ups

makes one serving

  • 1 cup frozen California vegetables (that’s broccoli, cauliflower, and carrots. Or your choice of vegetables.)
  • 1/4 cup white beans
  • 1/8 cup light sour cream
  • 2 ounces shredded cheddar cheese
  • 2 teaspoons minced garlic (I used bottled)
  • salt, pepper, paprika to taste
  • 2 lasagna noodles

Cook lasagna noodles.  Preheat oven to 350°F and grease the bottom of an 8×8 inch pan.

Heat up California vegetables and beans.  Add vegetables, beans, sour cream, 1 ounce cheddar cheese, garlic, and spices to food processor.  Process until smooth.

Lay out noodles.  Cover in a thin layer of sauce, so that all of the inner noodle is covered, but the sauce does not overflow when it is rolled.  Leave enough sauce to cover roll-ups.  Roll noodles and place into pan crease down.  Cover with leftover sauce and cheese.

Cook for 20 minutes, until roll-ups are heated through and cheese is melted.

