I feel like such a Negative Nancy after writing about my blog peeves yesterday, so I decided to make a post about some of the things I love right now (the first post of many, I’m sure).

Smoothies:  I don’t know what it is about them, but they’re freaking delicious and irresistible.

[source]

I had one of these babies today and, oh!  It. Was. Fantastic.  A good smoothie turns a bad day right around for me, especially when it’s full of fruits and veggies.  I should mention that I had 2 smoothies today because I had a green monster for breakfast.  It’s not even smoothie weather.

Portobello Mushroom Sandwiches:  I love mushrooms.  A lot.  Too much.  I can’t even tell you how many of these sandwiches I’ve had in the past few days (3).  They’re so delicious.  I just finished eating another one.

Insanity:  I’ve really struggled with my weight since I began having health problems and especially since I started taking prednisone.  I  was going to the gym and eating well consistently, but I wasn’t seeing any results in my clothes or measurements.  My friends/room mates went on a mission to do P90X and invited me to join, so I figured “why not?”  I knew I would have to make some modifications, but it went pretty well.  I pulled a muscle once, but I definitely started to see results by the end, including a deep hatred of Tony.  After P90X, we decided to do Insanity.  It looked ridiculous, but I went for it.  I actually ended up doing it alone because I moved into my own apartment.  It took a lot of starting and stopping, do-overs, and taking breaks to accomodate RA flares, but I finally finished an entire round this summer.  And I feel great.

Unfortunately, being such a crazy workout, it hasn’t helped me lose weight (the opposite actually).  But my body looks and feels completely different and I lost quite a few inches, and that counts for something.  I just started my second round.  Obviously I have a sick addiction.

Dresses:  I’m so not feeling pants these days.  My thighs have gotten more muscly recently and I just hate the way my jeans feel, but the next size up is too big and just fits weird (first world problems).  So, forget the pants!  Give me a drafty dress and some leggings, and I’m good.

How I Met Your Mother:

[source]

I spent almost all day on the couch Labor Day watching the HIMYM marathon.  I need more.  I need to have this couch destroyed.  I never want to get off of it.

Blogs & Health Articles:  I’ll admit it, I have a blog problem.  I get to work and all I can think about is getting home after 5 and reading my blog feed.  Or looking up more articles about health/fitness/weight loss.  Sometimes I can’t even hold it in.  I do it at work.  Can I make this into a job?  That and looking at recipes and pictures of food?

The “Single” Cupcake:  I make this cupcake in honor of my singleness.  Sometimes I think “I need a boyfriend” and I’m lucky enough to have friends to remind me “You do not need a boyfriend, you just want one.”  So I’ve made a promise to myself not to wish away my singleness.  There may come a day when I tie myself to one person for the rest of my life, and I’ll look back on this time wondering why I squandered my youth by wishing for what I didn’t have.

This cupcake is a celebration of my single life.  Or just wanting a cupcake and being too lazy to make a full batch.

The “Single” Cupcake

  • 1.5 tablespoons flour
  • 1 tablespoon & 1 teaspoon sugar
  • 1.5 teaspoons cocoa powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/8 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 3 teaspoon water or milk
  • 2 teaspoons sour cream
  • 1 teaspoon oil
  • 1/8 teaspoon vanilla

Mix together flour, sugar, cocoa, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.  Add in water/milk, sour cream, oil, and vanilla.  Pour into cupcake pan.  Bake at 350 for 20 minutes.  Allow to cool, then frost.

