A while ago, one of the companies I work for bought us a bag of small apples for the office.  There were more than we could really eat, so I asked if I could take them home and bake something from them for all of us to eat.

I was too lazy to make pie because making pie crust tests my patience like a  5-year-old boy whose mother feeds him nothing but candy, but has recently run out and is too busy to go to the store, so she leaves him with you to watch and he annoys the crap out of you because you don’t have candy either and she doesn’t come back for 8 hours.  So I made a crisp.

The recipe I used was way too sweet, but it was like crisp apple crack.  I couldn’t stop eating it and neither could my coworkers.  The whole thing was gone in less than 24 hours.  Still, I’d highly recommend reducing the amount of sugar in this recipe.

Crumbly topping.

These apples were so tiny.  It took like 10 to get all these slices.

BUTTAH.

This is my favorite part.  It’s difficult not to eat it all.

Sittin’ pretty.

GET IN MY MOUTH.

Apple Oatmeal Crisp

  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 1 cup rolled oats
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 3 cups apples – peeled, cored and chopped
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons ground cinnamon

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Lightly grease an 8 inch square pan.

In a large bowl, combine brown sugar, oats, flour and butter. Mix until crumbly. Place half of crumb mixture in pan. Spread the apples evenly over crumb mixture. Sprinkle with sugar and cinnamon and top with remaining crumb mixture.

Bake in the preheated oven for 40 to 45 minutes, or until golden brown.

