I love weekends.  Sundays make me sad, but the fact that they end in True Blood makes up for it a little bit.

I just got back from the grocery store.  It’s such a painful experience watching the price go up with every item scanned.  Food, WHY YOU SO EXPENSIVE?!

You know what makes Sundays really, really good?  Brownies.  And cookouts.  And free money.  But I don’t really know anything about that last one.  Although, I just looked at my budget and got super nervous because it seems like I have too much extra money this month.  Hopefully the apocalypse isn’t coming.

Back to the brownies.  These are the shit.  Seriously.  I got many a high-five and thumbs-up for these.  If you want people to like you more, bring them a couple of these.  I made them for a cookout and they tasted just like a s’more, but better.  They’re a perfect rich summer dessert and they taste even better when you eat them outside by a fire.

Om-nommy melty goodness.

The graham crackers on the bottom are key

No one ever takes pictures of eggs.  This is what an egg looks like on brownie batter.

If you’re observant, and I know you are, you’ll notice that my square pan turned into a round pan.  I had some epic failure with the first batch.

A few minutes after putting the brownies in the oven, I realized that I forgot to add the flour.  So I had to dump out the batter and the painstakingly placed layer of graham crackers and mix it in.  Everything went fine until I added the marshmallows and burnt them with the broiler.  And set off the smoke alarm.  Broilers are sneaky heat ninjas.

Anyway, though the burnt marshmallow could be picked off, some of it had melted into the corners and the brownies were impossible to get out of the pan.  I didn’t want to serve my friends ugly brownies, so I made a new batch.  And they were perfect.

Just look at that perfectly browned top.

S’mores Brownies

  • 1 pack graham crackers
  • ~18 marshmallows, sliced in half
  • 10 tablespoons (1 1/4 sticks) butter
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 3/4 cup plus 2 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cold large eggs
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour

Preheat the oven to 325°F. Grease the bottom of an 8×8 square pan.  Break graham crackers into fourths and arrange on the bottom of the pan.

Combine the butter, sugar, cocoa, and salt in a medium saucepan and turn stove to medium-low heat.  Stir from time to time until the butter is melted and the mixture is smooth.

Stir in the vanilla. Add the eggs one at a time, stirring vigorously after each one. Add flour and stir until well combined.  Pour batter over graham crackers.

Break left over graham crackers into large pieces and sprinkle over the top.

Bake until a toothpick plunged into the center emerges slightly moist with batter, about 25 to 30 minutes.  Place sliced marshmallows on top and cook for 5 more minutes and then broil until marshmallows are golden brown.  Cool and cut into squares.

(Brownie recipe adapted from this recipe.)

Do I make too many brownies?

