Oops.  Dropped the ball again already.  I know that it’s the typical blogger excuse to say that “Life’s just been too crazy to update”, but I don’t think most of them have as good as an excuse as I do.  Because, see, my life really is CRAZY.  I can’t even tell you here; I don’t think it’s legal.  Let’s just say between 3 jobs, trying to really get the ball rolling on INSANITY, my car breaking down, getting bronchitis and laryngitis, getting into a mess with TWO boys, trying to keep my friendships together, and trying to still stay SANE, I don’t have a lot of time left.  I’m sure you understand.

But I brought you cookies anyway.

I made these cookies a couple of weeks ago for a party.  I ended up at a bar at the end of the night with some friends.  They were looking through my camera at the pictures I had taken all night and one of them asked me “Why do you have so many pictures of your cookies?!”  Embarassing.

The only time I really miss my old apartment is when I’m taking pictures of food. There’s a tree right in front of my unit and no real natural light gets in here.

I used this recipe from Chocolate et Vanille:

Double Chocolate Chip Cookies
Makes around 2.5 dozen, depending on how big you make them.

* 1 1/4 c. AP flour
* 1 t. baking soda
* 1/2 t. salt
* 1 c. sugar
* 1 c. lt. brown sugar
* 1 c. butter flavoured Crisco
* 2 large eggs
* 1 1/2 t. vanilla
* 1/2 c. unsweetened cocoa
* 6 – 8 oz. milk or semi-sweet chocolate chips

Start out by preheating your oven to 350F and sifting together your flour, soda and salt. Set aside.

Cream your shortening and sugars together until light and fluffy.

Add eggs, one at a time, mixing well between additions.

Add vanilla. Mix well.

Add cocoa. Mix.

Add in your chocolate chips now.

Add flour, bits at a time, not overmixing.

Put into a 350F oven for 12 minutes, longer if you want a crisper cookie. Let them sit on the stove-top for a minute to set up, and then move to a cooling rack.

Of course, being the prissy girl that I am, I decided to use half shortening and half butter.  My cookies didn’t come out as soft.  They spread quite a bit, even when the dough was frozen, and were more crispy.  Don’t get me wrong, they were still delicious, but I don’t recommend that you follow in my footsteps.

I let my cookies bask in the sunlight.  Makes them taste better.

