For me, it is the simple things in life that really make it worth living.

The stack of books by my bed.  Having the windows open with a cool autumn breeze blowing in.  Being bundled up in bed.  The smell of apple cider.  Red, orange, and yellow leaves.

In case you haven’t guessed, I really love fall.  A lot.  I look forward to it all year long and mourn it when it’s gone.  Of course, we don’t get much fall here in Kentucky.  I don’t know if you’ve ever experienced the temper of the swiftly-changing Kentucky weather, but it’s rough.  For instance, yesterday’s high was 80°, and today’s was 60°.  We’ve already had our first frost and in the next week had to pull out shorts again.  Temperatures here will range from the 30’s to the 80’s at will, probably until mid-November.

But we all still relish the day when the fierce Kentucky summer heat finally begins to fade (did I mention it’s rained less than an inch in the past two months?), even if it is temporary.  We whip our hoodies and boots out of storage quicker than you can say “Holy football season.”  And you can bet that with that first cold front we also drag out the soup pot and make up a big ol’ pot of Kentucky chili (a.k.a. with spaghetti noodles.  And peanut butter sandwiches. No, YOU’RE weird.)  You can also bet that we’ll eat so much pumpkin after that first temperature drop that we won’t even look at the pumpkin pie on Thanksgiving.

I’ve already made my pot of chili, but I still needed to get my pumpkin fix.  So how about some Pumpkin Spice Cake balls?  I thought it sounded good, too.

A word about these here pictures, first.  My kitchen isn’t pretty. Like, at all.  Sorry.  Also, the sea of white and beige made my little point and shoot decide that it didn’t really feel like focusing that day.  Regardless, I hope you think my pictures are still delicious good enough.

Here we have the pumpkin spice cake mixed with the delicious cream cheese frosting

I rolled out some balls and froze them before I dipped them.  But something weird happened.  After I dipped the balls, some of them had little exploded parts where the cake was popping out.  I’m guessing that it’s from the expansion as the balls warm up, so try not to freeze them for too long.

This is for dipping, not eating.

If you could hear pictures, this one would go “Plop!”

Happy balls 🙂

It probably would have been nice of me to show you the inside of a finished one, but I forgot.  😦 Sowwy.

For the pumpkin spice cake, I used this recipe from Joy of Baking.  I used homemade cream cheese frosting and vanilla almond bark.  Standard cake ball procedure.

