Sorry for the long hiatus.  Funds and time have been low around here, so there hasn’t been much baking.

I’ve been looking for another job, not to mention the room mates and I started P90x (you heard me!), so when I get home from both jobs I have at least an hour of intense exercise to do and then have to make dinner.  Then I go to bed and get up to do it all again the next day.

Ah, adulthood.

However, last weekend I felt like doing something nice for my boyfriend, so I made a cheesecake.  This is my favorite recipe.  I changed the crust recipe because a crust without sugar is really dry.

Did you notice the crack?  I hope not.  Despite following the instructions for the water bath and slow cooling, etc., my cheesecake still cracked.  Luckily I’m not too vain about the appearance.

Chantal’s New York Cheesecake

  • 1 c graham cracker crumbs
  • 4 T butter, melted
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 4 (8 ounce) packages cream cheese
  • 1 1/2 cups white sugar
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup all-purpose flour

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease a 9 inch springform pan.

In a medium bowl, mix graham cracker crumbs with sugar. Then mix with melted butter. Press onto bottom of springform pan.

In a large bowl, mix cream cheese with sugar until smooth. Blend in milk, and then mix in the eggs one at a time, mixing just enough to incorporate. Mix in sour cream, vanilla and flour until smooth. Pour filling into prepared crust.

Bake in preheated oven for 1 hour. Turn the oven off, and let cake cool in oven with the door closed for 5 to 6 hours; this prevents cracking. Chill in refrigerator until serving.

For the top I just made up a basic chocolate drizzle and peanut butter drizzle and then sprinked some chocolate chips onto it.

It was freaking delicious.

