I’m sure you’re thinking “Whoa.  What’s with the all-caps?!”

People, you cannot understand how I have struggled with vanilla cupcakes.  Up until now our relationship has been nothing but heartbreak, mostly mine.

No matter what recipe I used, I have never been able to make successful vanilla cupcakes from scratch.  I always end up with some greasy, flat, flavorless mess, and a huge blow to my baking ego.  This was always particularly heartbreaking for me because I love vanilla cake with chocolate frosting; it’s my favorite cake combo.

Despite my epic failures, I refused to give up.  One day I really wanted some cake, so I scoured the internets once again, looking for a recipe that might not hate me.  I got the recipe on bakebakebake, but I don’t remember which one it was (and I messed with it anyway, so it doesn’t really matter).

They came out so perfect.  Their little tops puffed and stay put.  The crumb was moist and the cake itself tastes delicious.

Look! It loves me!

I realized too late that I didn’t have enough powdered sugar to frost them properly, so I just made what I could and did my best.

The recipe only makes about 10 large cupcakes (I made 12 smaller ones), but I would think that doubling it would work fine.  But please don’t get mad at me if it doesn’t, I haven’t tried it yet.

Originally the recipe called for 1/2 c oil and 1/2 c buttermilk.  I wanted the cake to have a buttery flavor, so I cut the oil in half and replaced the other half with butter.  I didn’t have any buttermilk, so I just used half milk and half sour cream.

Success Cupcakes (makes about 10 large cupcakes)

  • 1 c flour
  • 1 1/2 t baking powder
  • 1/4 t salt
  • 1/2 c sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 c butter
  • 1/4 c oil
  • 1/4 c milk (I used skim)
  • 1/4 c sour cream (I used reduced fat)
  • 2+ t vanilla (because it’s vanilla cake!)

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. In a medium bowl whisk together (or sift or whatever) flour, baking powder, and salt.  In another bowl whisk together sugar, eggs, butter, oil, milk, sour cream, and vanilla.  Slowly add dry ingredients to wet.  Bake for 15 minutes.

