So you thought that it would be awhile until you saw brownies again since I just posted about them last week, right?

WRONG.

Posting about my search for the perfect brownie seems to have woken up some kind of brownie beast in me and it wants a nice chewy, fudgy brownie.  So I had to try again.

These brownies weren’t exactly what I was looking for, but to be perfectly honest, they were freaking delicious anyway.  I miss them already.

I used this recipe for chocolate chip brownies that I found on bakebakebake a while ago.  I mean, after looking at those pictures, how could I possibly help myself?  They look just absolutely amazing.  Mine didn’t turn out quite like that, sadly.

My brownie batter turned out exceptionally thick, which made it hard to spread and had me really worried that they would turn out dry and crumbly.  All considered, they turned out pretty moist, but not quite as moist as one might expect from pastelhearts’ pictures.

But I’d be willing to give these another shot and play around with the wet ingredients to see if that helps any.

Chocolate Chip Brownies

  • 4 ounces unsalted butter
  • 4 ounces unsweetened chocolate
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs, at room temperature
  • 1 cup flour
  • 2 tablespoons cocoa

Position an oven rack on the middle rung.  Heat the oven to 350°F.  Grease an 8-inch square pan.

In a double boiler over simmering water, melt the butter and chocolate.  Remove the pan from the heat; cool slightly.  Stir in the sugar, salt, and vanilla.  Mix in the eggs, one at a time, stirring each time until blended.  Add the flour and cocoa; beat until incorporated and the mixture is smooth, 30 to 60 seconds.

Scrape the batter into the prepared pan and add chips to top, if desired, and bake until the top is uniformly colored with no indentation and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out almost clean, with a few moist crumbs clinging to it, 30 to 40 minutes.

Set the pan on a rack until cool enough to handle.  Run a paring knife around the inside edge of the pan and then invert the pan onto a flat surface and peel off the parchment.  Flip the baked brownie back onto the rack to cool completely.

