There’s something you should know about me.

I.

Love.

Brownies.

I am obsessed with them.  They’re the ultimate chocolate.  They can be crispy, cakey, fudgy, chewy, gooey, or dense – they’ll be pretty much anything you want them to be.  That’s why there’s a whole folder dedicated to them in my recipe file.

Though I have a few brownie recipes that I turn to when I need my fix or I need to make something for family or friends, I have never found that perfect blend of chewy, fudgy, and chocolate that you can get from a basic box mix.  When I saw this recipe (a.k.a. Betty Crocker’s), I was sure that my search was over.

I saw the pictures that i am baker posted on her blog and knew that they were exactly what I was looking for.  You should go visit her blog, she’s like a baking superhero.

One thing you should know before we get into this mess is that I fiddled with the recipe (shock, I know).  I don’t keep unsweetened baking chocolate around because I like to keep my staples as simple as possible, so I substituted with chocolate chips and reduced the amount of sugar in the recipe.  This was probably where the trouble started.

I was very nervous when I finished mixing the batter because it was lighter in color and sweeter than what I was expecting.  The recipe calls for mixing the eggs for 5 minutes, which makes the batter very light and voluminous, but i am baker’s pictures displayed lovely, dark brownies.

When the brownies were finished the crust was very, very crispy and the inside very fudgy.  While I like both, the textures were a bit on the extreme side for my taste.  I knew the fudginess would decrease once the brownies had cooled, but the crispiness wouldn’t and didn’t, which made them difficult to cut.  I’m looking for the delicate crust that one expects from a boxed mix, which is what i am baker’s pictures show.  My brownies also ended up being too sweet and didn’t have a strong enough chocolate flavor.

Despite all of these things, the brownies turned out pretty well.  I plan on having another go at this recipe with the proper ingredients and hope that Betty Crocker will have the answer for the perfect brownie.

Betty Crocker’s Brownies

  • 2/3 cup butter or margarine
  • 5 ounces unsweetened baking chocolate, chopped into pieces
  • 1 3/4 cups sugar
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour

Position one of your oven racks in the middle of the oven. Preheat the oven to 350F degrees. Grease a 9-inch square baking pan with nonstick cooking spray or shortening.

In a small saucepan, melt the butter and chocolate over low heat, stirring frequently. Remove from the heat and cool slightly, about 5 minutes.

In a large bowl beat the sugar, vanilla, and egg with an electric mixer on high speed for 5 minutes, scraping down the sides of the bowl with a rubber spatula if necessary to make sure everything is well blended.

Beat in the chocolate mixture with the mixer on low speed, scraping the bowl occasionally as necessary.  Add the flour and beat on low speed just until blended.  Spread batter into the prepared pan.  Bake 40 to 45 minutes or just until the brownies begin to pull away from the sides of the pan and center is set.

Remove from the oven and place the pan on a wire rack to cool completely, about 2 hours.

