Today was a co-workers’ birthday and she requested Red Velvet Cupcakes to celebrate.  I love bringing my baked goods to work because it means that I won’t end up eating a ridiculous amount of whatever it is.

I didn’t love the results I got from the previous Red Velvet Cupcake recipe, but I wasn’t completely ready to give in to Paula Deen’s oily wishes, so I kind of merged the two recipes into a delicious hybrid.

Cupcake gore.

Red Velvet Cupcakes (makes 24)

  • 2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 cup vegetable oil
  • 1 cup buttermilk, room temperature
  • 2 large eggs, room temperature
  • 2 tablespoons red food coloring
  • 1 teaspoon white distilled vinegar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees F. Line 2 (12-cup) muffin pans with cupcake papers, spray with nonstick cooking spray. In a medium mixing bowl, sift together the flour, sugar, baking soda, salt, and cocoa powder. In a large bowl gently beat together the oil, buttermilk, eggs, food coloring, vinegar, and vanilla with a handheld electric mixer. Add the sifted dry ingredients to the wet and mix until smooth and thoroughly combined.

Divide the batter evenly among the cupcake tins about 2/3 filled. Bake in oven for about 20 to 22 minutes, turning the pans once, half way through. Test the cupcakes with a toothpick for doneness. Remove from oven and cool completely before frosting.

Notes: I changed the amount of cocoa, oil, and vanilla to get a better flavor and texture.  The extra cocoa makes the color a little less vibrant, but that can be adjusted depending on what you want as far as flavor and color.  I also used apple cider vinegar rather than white because that’s what I had.

 

Poll Time!

I personally like for my cupcakes to be a little less sweet than usual, especially if there’s frosting on top.  However, I know that everyone’s taste are different and I’m wondering how people feel about the relationship between cupcakes and frosting.  Should the cake stand alone or should the sweetness be dialed down to compensate for the sweetness of the frosting?

