Caprese salad is a pretty basic dish.  You arrange sliced tomatoes and mozzarella with fresh basil leaves and drizzle it with olive oil.  Then you sprinkle it all with salt and pepper.  Ta-da!  Deliciousness.  But a little bland.  And where are my carbs?!

I wanted to make caprese salad for a long time, but I never got around to it until last night.  It was hard for me to spend $4 on fresh mozzarella and $3 for fresh basil, but I think it was worth it.

 Instead of a regular caprese salad, I decided to make baked caprese salad, which is baked on top of crostini.  It was amazing.  It’s hard to believe something so basic could be so delicious.

Baked Caprese Salad

  • 1 loaf of French bread
  • Fresh Mozzarella
  • Tomatoes
  • Basil
  • Olive oil
  • Salt and pepper

 Slice the bread into 1/2 inch slices.  Brush both sides with olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  Bake on cookie sheet at 450 degrees for 5 minutes or until light golden brown.

Place one slice tomato and one slice mozzarella on each crostini.  Bake for 5 minutes.  Place one basil leaf on each slice & eat.

*I didn’t want too much basil on top, so I chopped it and put a few pieces on each slice of mozzarella before baking.

