I’ve been trying my best (really!) to not bake anything until my new camera gets here and I can take pictures to share, but after two weeks and my camera sitting one state away for the past 4 days, I finally gave into the urge.  I wanted chocolate really badly, chocolate chip cookies or brownies or chocolate cake, anything!  But, in order to try and keep myself from baking, I had purposefully not restocked my supply of chocolate chips or cocoa when I ran out last month.  What could I do?  I knew I had to have something baked, so I skimmed my “To Try” recipe folder in my favorites and stumbled upon a category I hadn’t visited in years, Coffee Cake.

It wasn’t chocolate, but I thought it would do.  Unfortunately, I continued to run into problems along the way.  That pack of butter that I thought was brand new only had half of a stick in it, but I had my yogurt spread.  I didn’t have enough sour cream.  My streusel ended up too soft, but I swirled it into the batter and it turned out fine.  Despite all these hurdles, my cake came out just fine, with some tweaks. 

I used a recipe from Allrecipes.com, my favorite recipe site, but doubled the amount of streusel, putting some in the middle and some on top, and also put pecan pieces on top.  I also used half white/half brown sugar for the streusel.

Coffee Cake (adapted from Aunt Anne’s Coffee Cake)

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup trans-fat free margarine
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup milk, or as needed
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  •  

  • 1/2  cup all-purpose flour
  • 2/3 cup white sugar
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup butter

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease and flour a 9×13 inch pan. Make the streusel topping: In a medium bowl, combine 1/2 cup flour, 2/3 cup white sugar, 2/3 cup brown sugar and 1 teaspoon cinnamon. Cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Set aside.

2. In a large bowl, combine 2 cups flour, 3/4 cup sugar, baking powder and salt. Cut in butter until mixture resembles coarse crumbs. Crack an egg into a measuring cup and then fill add milk to make 1 cup, add to dry ingredients. Stir in vanilla until just moistened. Pour half of batter into prepared pan. Drop half of streusel on top in teaspoon increments and swirl in.  Pour on the rest of the batter and then drop on the rest of the streusel, swirl streusel in.  

3. Bake in the preheated oven for 25 to 30 minutes, or until a toothpick inserted into the center of the cake comes out clean.  Eat warm or cooled.

