My best friend grew up in a pretty healthy household.  Her mother was a bit of a health nut and kept herself pretty informed about nutritional news.  They always had natural peanut butter, fresh veggies, whole wheat bread, etc.  The good stuff.

My childhood was nothing like that.  I grew up knowing very little about nutrition.  The basis of my knowledge was that you were supposed to eat lots of vegetables and stuff like that, but my surroundings didn’t give me a lot to work with.  I had no idea about how calories worked or what the values on a nutritional label really meant.  Due to a lack of funds, dinner at home often consisted of combining a pack of ramen noodles with a can of tuna.  Needless to say, coming into my best friend’s house was a bit of a shock for me.  They used to tease me by saying they were making something crazy like eggplant lasagna for dinner.  It was terrifying.

When I got to college, things changed a lot.  I took some nutrition classes and completely changed my way of eating.  Even so, I still balked at some of the things my friend would eat.  Natural peanut butter?  Not sweet enough.  Black beans?  Yuck.  Hummus?  Hummus…

Hummus scared the crap out of me.  Chickpeas were weird.  A chickpea paste?  That doesn’t even make sense.

But one day (after many years) I was feeling particularly brave and tried some.  It changed my life.  It didn’t taste like beans, it tasted like garlic and heaven!

Thus, my love affair began.  And, of course, it was an expensive one.  For those who live on the thrifty side of life, spending $2.50+ for a tiny container of deliciousness is quite painful.  So hummus was really a treat for me, something I bought every now and then (and devoured in about 36 hours).

But then I began another phase of my life: learning to make things at home (a big money saver).  I realized that I could make my own hummus, and make it exactly how I wanted!  For a long time I was hung up on buying tahini.  I couldn’t really find it in me to justify the cost.  But eventually I gave up and made it without the tahini, and fell in love.  It was awesome!  But I couldn’t keep enough chickpeas in the house to satify my cravings.  One can just doesn’t make enough.  So, I thought back to a post I saw on How Sweet It Is about white bean hummus.  Surely I could just buy the same dried beans I used to make bean soup and make those into deliciousness.

So I did.  AND IT WAS AWESOME.

So here it is, my new addiction: bean hummus.

My lunch today: no salt added corn, whole wheat saltine crackers, and home made bean hummus.

I don’t have an exact recipe, but it goes something like this (don’t judge me):

Bean Hummus

  • Some beans (I rehydrated dried mixed beans)
  • 1 T olive oil
  • 2 T apple cider vinegar (usually you use lemon juice, but I’m out and the vinegar is good)
  • An obscene heap of minced garlic
  • Some chopped onion
  • A dollop of light sour cream
  • Salt and pepper

Put everything in a food processor and process the heck out of it so it’s nice and smooth.

You can pretty much add whatever you want to this.  I’ve added spinach and mushrooms, cheddar cheese, grated parmesan cheese, salsa, and plenty of other strange things.  I like using the sour cream to help make it smoother and creamier, so I don’t have to use as much oil.  Also, I’ll eat sour cream with pretty much anything.  Or by itself.

I said not to judge me, remember?